Blog changes

In an effort to get this blog back on track I have simplified it, deleted some of the attached one-topic blogs
and focused on Sabbats and Esbats, which was the original intent.
Other writings will be in 'stumbling upon the path of the goddess'
and the Borrowed Book of Charms is still active.
Links in the right hand column.

Sunday, January 30, 2011

Imbolc, Brigid and a New Moon

If you have any plans whatsoever to start anything new, now is the time.  The energy for new beginnings is strong over the next few days.

February 1st is Imbolc.  The halfway point between the winter solstice and the spring equinox.  The return of the sun is beginning to be felt in earnest.  The heat and the light are increasing.  Lambing season, the ultimate sign of spring in most of Europe, is nearly underway.  It is not spring, but the earth is beginning to wake from the winter sleep and small signs of the new season are everywhere.  A simple traditional way to celebrate this day is to light a candle in every room of the house, or simply turn on a light in each room and take a moment to appreciate the difference that light makes and be grateful for the return of the sun.
February 1st is also the traditional day to honor the goddess Brigid, Celtic goddess of fire, both the fire of the hearth and the fire of the forge.  She is a goddess of creativity and new beginnings, created in fire.  Throw open all the doors and windows of your home on this day and stand in the front door and invite Brigid into your home, with all of her energies for new life and creativity.

February 2 is a New Moon; always a good time to take stock of what you want to bring into your life and take action in ritual and in the rest of your life to make it so. 

A strong combination of energies, don't let it slip away.

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Full Moon

Full Moon today, January 19, more later. 

Jan. 19:
    21:22 GMT, UT
Jan. 19:
      4:22 PM EST
      3:22 PM CST
      2:22 PM MST
      1:22 PM PST


Blog Widget by LinkWithin